Selhuber-Unkel Group - Molecular Systems Engineering

Welcome to the Group of Prof. Dr. Christine Selhuber-Unkel. Here you will find the current staff members, postdocs and PhDs within our group. 


Principle Investigator: Prof. Dr. Christine Selhuber-Unkel


Aeb00993-72e3-46f3-9a67-283f35bb810e 1 201 A

 

Please find the latest version of Prof. Dr. Christine Selhuber-Unkel's CV here .

 

Email: Selhuber@Uni-Heidelberg.de

( Picture courtesy of Heidelberg University, Communications and Marketing)



Group Leader


Aldo Face

Dr. Aldo Leal-Egana

 

- Development of cancer-like microdevices for studying cancer progression

- Using single-cell traction force microscopy for analyzing biomechanical heterogeneity in cancer pathologies

 

Email: Aldo.Leal@Uni-Heidelberg.de




Postdoctoral Researchers


Federico Colombo

Dr. Federico Colombo

 

- Mechanical characterization of synovial tissue organoids

- Custom hydrogels for the mechanical stimulation of organoids

 

E-mail: Federico.Colombo@Uni-Heidelberg.de 



Qj-hd Website

 Qiyang Jiang (Thesis pending)

 

- Synthesis and characterization of multi photon sensitive azobenzenes

- Development of photoswitchable 3D scaffolds to dynamically control over cellular events

 

Email: Qiyang.Jiang@Uni-Heidelberg.de



Dr. Trevor Kalkus 

 

- Applications for multi-material 3D printed structures with integrated biology

- Using salinity gradients to create a hydrogel-material power source for soft robotics

 

Email:  trevor.kalkus@uni-heidelberg.de



Img 8029

Dr. Sunil Rajput 

 

- Development of stimuli-responsive biomaterial systems for applications related to neurological disorders

- Combining computational modeling with experimental practices for photo-responsive polymer systems

 

Email:  Sunil.Rajput@Uni-Heidelberg.de



Sandra Sindt Photo Website

Dr.-Ing. Sandra Sindt

 

- Investigation of the role of mechanical cues on cell behavior 

- Mechanical characterization of soft materials by AFM-based indentation

 

Email:  sasi@tf.uni-kiel.de



963baa2c-bf35-431b-bd89-9193f46d31c8

Dr.-Ing. Mohammadreza Taale

 

- Development of metamaterials and their application as vascular grafts

- Generation of 3D platforms for tissue engineering purposes 

 

E-mail:  Reza.Taale@Uni-Heidelberg.de



Fereydoon Taheri

Dr. Fereydoon Taheri

 

- Studying the intracellular motions in stem cells during the course of differentiation using single-particle tracking 

- Development of statistical and computational tools to analyze the diffusion of nanoparticles in biological systems

 

E-mail:  F.Taheri@Uni-Heidelberg.de



Img 8492

Dr. Maria Villiou

 

- Development of responsive and 3D printable biomaterials for tissue engineering applications

- Ingestion of photoswitchable platforms for stem cell differentiation

 

E-mail:  Maria.Villiou@Uni-Heidelberg.de




PhD Candidates


Yasmin

M.Sc. Yasmine Antonelli

 

- Development of 3D tumor-like scaffolds for studying cancer progression

- Characterization of biomechanical activity of cancer cells in vitro using single-cell traction/indentation force microscopy

 

E-mail: Yasmin.Antonelli@Uni-Heidelberg.de 

 



Christine-arndt

M.Sc. Christine Arndt

 

- Development of dynamically adjustable biohybrid actuators

- Synthesis and development of electrically conductive scaffolds for tissue engineering

 

Email: networked-matter@email.uni-kiel.de



Stephen Casale

M.Sc. Stephen Casale 

 

-   Brain chip: In vitro neuronal culture on a microelectrode array to support the reverse engineering of AI

 Interdisciplinary scientific training, Matter to Life, more about my background: LinkedIn

 

Email: Stephen.Casale@mtl.maxplanckschools.de

 



Angeles

M.Sc. Angeles de la Cruz 

 

-  Implementation of magnetoelectronic sensors for mapping distributions of magnetically labeled cells in 3D biomaterial scaffolds

Dynamic investigation of magnetically labeled cells in complex 3D biomaterial scaffolds

 

Email: Angeles.Delacruz@Uni-Heidelberg.de



Img 2177-sophie Bewerbungsfoto

M.Sc. Sophie Geiger 

 

-   Photomechanical stimulation to control mechanosensing in cells

 Focusing on effects on cell adhesion with AFM  

 

E-mail: Sophie.Geiger@Uni-Heidelberg.de 

 



20180615 230749

M.Sc. Mishal Khan

 

- Mechanical investigation of structured hydrogels as an interface between implants and brain tissue

- Study of cellular forces as cancer biomarkers via single-cell traction force microscopy (TFM)

 

Email: Mishal.Khan@stud.uni-heidelberg.de



Ankit

M. Tech. Ankit Mishra

 

- Fabrication of responsive materials for drug delivery in the brain

- Demonstrate the application of drug delivery systems in treating brain disorders such as glioblastomas, aneurysms and epilepsy

 

Email: anmi@tf.uni-kiel.de



Schmidt Malin

M.Sc. Malin Schmidt 

 

-   Development of strain-stiffening metamaterials for biomedical applications

 Mechanical investigations on different 3D-printed structures and materials

 

Email: Malin.Schmidt@Uni-Heidelberg.de

 



Foto Website Tobi

M.Sc. Tobias Spratte

 

- Focusing on stimuli-responsive hydrogels for the use as actuators in soft robotics

- Investigation of cooperative interactions in soft microactuator systems

 

E-mail:  Tobias.Spratte@Uni-Heidelberg.de




Support Staff


Vik

Viktoria Albert (Lab Technician)

 

- Support with cell culture and S1 lab maintenance protocols

- Inventory Management and Equipment Purchasing

 

Email: Viktoria.Albert@Uni-Heidelberg.de

 



Tanisha

M.Sc. Tanisha Gebert (Lab Technician)

 

- Support with cell culture experiments 2D/3D 

- Application and analysis of different molecular biology techniques 

 

Email: Tanisha.Gebert@Uni-Heidelberg.de

 



Female Dummy

Stefanie Märksch (Secretary)

 

- Secretarial and Administrative Duties

- Purchasing, Invoicing, Scheduling  

 

Email: Stefanie.Maerksch@uni-heidelberg.de

 



Mehran Profile

Dr.-Ing. Mehran Mehrabanian (Senior Lab Engineer)

 

- Manufacturing and Micro-analysis of lab-on-chip polymer probes: Optical lithography and 3D printing 

- Organization, risk assessment, training, and cleanroom responsibility 

 

Email: Mehran.Mehrabanian@Uni-Heidelberg.de

 



Picture Sadi

Dr. Sadaf Pashapour (Project Leader/Head of Microfluidic Core Facility)

 

- Designing and implementing microfluidic devices for studying cell, organ and tissue biology

- Investigating cell/bacteria-ECM interactions using microfluidic and molecular biology approaches 

 

Email: Sadaf.Pashapour@mr.mpg.de

 



Bscherke

Benjamin Scherke (Administration)

 

- Administration/Accounting

- Support for ERC-Photomech Project, Invoicing, Travel Costs

 

Email: scherke@uni-heidelberg.de

 



Florine

Florine Sessler, M.Sc. (Lab Engineer)

 

- Biomechanics Core Facility

- CAD Modelling and 3D printing

 

Email: Florine.Sessler@uni-heidelberg.de

 



 

 

 

 

 

Site Under Construction

Editor: Dr Sunil Rajput 

 
 
Editor: Email
Latest Revision: 2022-06-24
zum Seitenanfang/up